The grocery list is a wondrous gift for Dad on Sunday.

The Grocery List

From the earth to the farm stand to our table, fresh produce, River Road, Whately, Massachusetts

The grocery list
Is beginning to form,
Out in the fields,
Rows of lettuce
And sweet corn,
From my pen to paper
Ingredients whirl
And recipes unfurl

An adirondack chair, in style.

So have a seat
In my flower chair,
And let me serve you up
Some yummy fare,
Bought from the farm stands
Grown from the fields out yonder.

I’m cooking for you Dad
From the kitchen of my heart
Forever and for always.

Peaches
Brown sugar
Oh and some apple cider vinegar
Bacon, beans
Some salad greens
And Vermont Sharp Cheddar
Cheese, with red wine
If you please!

Potato chips
And french onion dip,
Do you think for today
We’ve blown away
Our diets?
One day is okay,
Oh happy day!

Steaks on the grill
Portabello Mushrooms
Marinated so well,
And Andy’s Beans
Created especially
For you Dad,
So sit and enjoy
This food reverie.

Mom's Strawberry Rhubarb Pie to tickle the tummy and sweeten the eye!

The trappings of delight
For Dad’s family gathering
Scents of perfume
From such lovely food
In the kitchen
A wondrous creation for sharing.

On the trail, Mount Holyoke, Hadley, Massachusetts

Come in from your hike
So you can eat what you like

I’m cooking for you Dad
From the kitchen of my heart
Forever and for always.


©2011, Cindy Eksuzian, all rights reserved.

MS, NDR Communication Tools For Conflict Engagement

An Odyssey Woven In Poetry And Photographs

“Walking On HIS Footstool,”

A trail from individuation to divine respect.

For more information, see my “About Me” page.  Or, click on the picture and be directed to my website!

About Cindy Eksuzian

See my "about me" page.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Inspiration, Nature, Photography, Poetry, Social Construction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The grocery list is a wondrous gift for Dad on Sunday.

  1. Bodhirose says:

    Totally delightful–from the fields of fresh produce to becoming a meal for your Dad. I could feel the love.

    Gayle ~

  2. Ravenblack says:

    Awesome and mouthwatering list, sounds like your dad and all your family will have a wonderful father’s day celebration. 🙂

  3. Becca Givens says:

    This is a unique and awesome post … special tribute to your dad … Thank you for sharing!
    I appreciate your recent visit and kind remarks! 😀

  4. Pat Cegan says:

    Fun poem, full of love and the pictures are such an added treat. How wonderful that you still have your Dad with you. I miss my Dad and Step-dad who was also so special in my life. Hugs, pat

  5. Hi cindy,
    I love your poem, I keep my Dad with me in everything I do 🙂 It was nice to read your poem.

Leave a Reply

